A letter from our President, Kim Merrifield

Welcome Back! 2021/2022 is a great year to be a school nurse. 

My name is Kim Merrifield and I will be the President of the St. Louis Suburban School Nurse Association (SLSSNA) this year. I have 15 years of experience as a school nurse and have been fortunate to work for many St. Louis county school districts. I was so hoping we could start this year with COVID in the rearview mirror, but we will still have some challenges ahead of us. Thankfully, all the students are back and eager to learn. 

With your membership, you have the opportunity to network and continue learning about topics that pertain to school nursing.  Mark your calendar because we meet on the third Thursday of September, October, November, January, February, April, and May.  Networking begins at 4:30 and the presentation at 5:00.  Meetings will be held via Zoom for the time being. Through our partnership with St Luke’s Hospital, we are able to offer members 1.0 contact hours for attending our meetings. 

When you have time, please check out our website at  You will find dates of our meetings, contact information from our Board of Directors, and resources from past presentations.   Keep an eye out for emails from us about membership information and reminders for meetings. 

If you need any assistance or have any questions or comments about your membership, please feel free to contact us. We are always looking for new members. If you school nurse friends in St. Louis County or St. Charles County please encourage them to join. 


Looking forward to seeing you on Thursday, September 16th, 2021, 4:30 pm-6:00 pm via Zoom for Linda Neumann’s presentation on Advocacy and Missouri Legislative Updates.  

Thank you,

Kim Merrifield BSN, RN, NCSN

President- St. Louis Suburban School Nurse Association

“Let us never consider ourselves finished nurses…. we must be learning all of our lives.” – Florence Nightingale



2019-2020 Executive Committee


Past PresidentKathy Gutmann   
President Kim Merrifield
President-ElectAngie Oest
Vice President Eli Brueggemann
Secretary Dena Bashiti
Treasurer Carolyn Kluttz
St. Lukes Contact Laurie Chappell

The Board of Directors consists of the Executive Committee (or officers) and the chairs of the committees listed below.  

SLSSNA Committee

Committee Committee Chair Committee Members
LegislationLinda Neumann
MembershipKathy Gutmann Angie Oest
Publicity/HistorianDiana Orloski
Website/FaceBook Kim Webb
Ways and MeansDiana Orloski